Ray Haddock Lido Prize

The Ray Haddock Lido Prize is awarded annually by members of the Alister MacKenzie Society to honor the memory of Dr. Alister MacKenzie and recognize the design potential of an up and coming architect. The winner is invited to attend and participate in the annual Society gathering to be held that year. All entries for 2020 must be a par 3 design. The winner will be invited to attend and participate in the annual Society gathering to be held at The Titirangi Golf Club in Auckland, New Zealand, November 8-11, 2020.

The name “Lido” comes from Dr. MacKenzie’s own drawing of a “two-shot hole” for the Lido Golf Course on Long Island (no longer in existence), which won him first place honors in a 1914 golf architecture competition sponsored by Britain’s Country Life magazine. MacKenzie’s drawing, shown below, proved to be an important step in developing his reputation. 

MacKenzie’s great-grandson, Ray Haddock, headed original funding for the Prize. Dr. MacKenzie left behind a manuscript entitled The Spirit of Saint Andrews, whereupon Mr. Haddock had it published and proceeds from the sale were used to create a perpetual fund for the Lido competition. The competition began in 1998 and the success of the Prize is evidenced by winners who have gone on to become successful golf course architects. All of the winners and finalists have exhibited the ability to incorporate MacKenzie design features into their entries.

MacKenzie designed courses can often be recognized by distinguishing features. Some of these are:

  • There should be variety in the design of holes and they should be fun to play.
  • Holes should be fair and challenging for golfers of all skill levels.
  • Holes should make use of the natural features of the land.
  • Bunkering should guide the player’s strategy for playing the course and should “frame” shots to any greens that are “blind”.
  • Contours and/or multiple tiers add interest to greens. The green should provide an access route for weaker players and present a challenge for more skilled players.

Submitted designs should be in the form of an elaborated sketch giving the viewer a clear idea of how the hole would be constructed and played. It should show yardages, tee locations, alternative playing routes, hazards, bunkers, green location and contours with alternative pin placements, and side elevation of the terrain. Drawings may NOT be larger than 11″ x 17.” See entry form for details.

2019 Award Winner

The 2019 award winner was Cameron Hurdus, now a three-time winner with winning entries in 3 par, 4 par, and 5 par designs. The winning entry was selected from 90 entries by judges Gene Zanardi and Todd Eckenrode.

Gene Zanardi & Cameron Hurdus
2019 Winner - Cameron Hurdus
2019 Winner - Cameron Hurdus

























Cameron Hurdus

David Hoekstra

Brian Orellana

Cameron Hurdus

Clyde Johnson

Riley Johns

William Kendall

Cameron Hurdus

David Hoekstra

Peter Zarlengo

Jeff Martz

Bo Links

Bo Links

Jim Leigh 

Per Thunberg


Thad Layton

Simon Ford

Tyler Sullivan

Phil Vantier

Lance Dickinson

Todd Duguid


Todd Eckenrode,Gene Zanardi

David Dale

Ron Whitten, Gene Zanardi

Rees Jones

Jim Urbina

Jay Blasi

Todd Eckenrode

Forrest Richardson

Brian Costello

Thad Layton

Robert Trent Jones III

Sandy Tatum

Ron Whitten

Don Knott

Kyle Phillips

Mike DeVries

Mike DeVries

Nick Faldo

Ben Crenshaw

Gary Player

Arnold Palmer, Ed Seay

Scroll to Top